July 3, 2019

John Gaar is Among the Year’s Most Exceptional Artists & Releases
Honored in The 17th Annual Independent Music Awards 

Austin’s own John Gaar received top honors for his “Roll Like That” video at The 17th Annual Independent Music Awards (The IMAs), the influential program for independent artists and releases. “Roll Like That” is Gaar’s lead single off his new CD of the same title, “an excellent rock album featuring incredible showmanship, and boasting a wide range of styles and a stunning production” according to Artistrack. Gaar was honored at the annual awards ceremony held in New York City on Saturday, June 22nd alongside projects by Beyond Creation, Broken Rail, Ella Vos, Erik Scott, Juliana Hatfield, Lucy Wainwright Roche, Mamita Peyote, Masta Ace and Marco Polo, Miss Tara, Ne Obliviscaris, Nina Attal, Pedro Luìs, Prateek Kuhad and Rogério Caetano, among many others.

John Gaar is IMA Winner of the Year for Short Form Performance Video
for “Roll Like That” – a Good Ole Southern Road Trip Song that Celebrates Keeping Austin Weird!


“Thank you IMA’s and much love to my wonderful fans that voted us #1!” Gaar said.


The winning projects were selected by judging panels and by fan vote. Judges were comprised of top recording talent including: Tom Waits, Lee Ann Womack, Robert Smith, Nicole Atkins, Todd Rundgren, Martha Wash and Jim Brickman, among many others; and influential press, managers and talent buyers from the Americas, Europe and the Pacific Rim.

Ten nominated bands performed at the award show: Ale Jiménez, Alicia Michilli, Bombay Rickey, Between Giants, Claudia Acuña, Low Lily, Mark Erelli, Nsimbi, Shadow of Whales and Shon Weathers performed between award presentations in 104 music, video and visual design categories. The coveted IMA After-Party included performances by John Gaar, Fiona Joy & Jeff Oster, Tiffany Pollack and Rini. 


A limited-edition red vinyl record inscribed with artists and project names, were presented by current judges and past recipients who included: åMBe, Roman Miroshenko, Fiona Bloom, Fiona Joy, Jackknife Stiletto, Jan Bell, Jana Fisher, Jim Brickman Jeff Oster, Lucy Kalantari and Martha Wash.

The award show was the climax of The IMAs Indie Konference, a two-day convention of independent creatives and influencers from around the globe.

A complete list of winners are available at


Now in its 18th year, The Independent Music Awards produced by Music Resource Group elevate the year’s most exceptional music projects from self-released and indie label talent from around the world – in all styles and mediums. Known for championing artists who follow their muse, the prestigious award honors artists and artistry, rather than streaming stats or social reach, in more than 100 Album, EP, Song, Music Video, Producer and Visual Design categories.


Program winners and nominees are an eclectic mix of extraordinary artists and includes: Amy Lee, Killer Mike, Valerie June, J.D. McPherson, Meghan Trainor, Nik West, Passenger, Macy Gray, …And You Will Know Us By The Trail of Dead, RuPaul, John McEuen, Sofia Rei, Jamie Lidell, Flying Lotus, and fun. among many, many more.

Winning projects are selected by panels of iconic Artists which have included Keith Richards, Tom Waits, Aimee Mann, M’shell Ndegeocello, Norah Jones, Chris Thile, Peter Gabriel, Suzanne Vega, Snoop Dogg, Melissa Etheridge, Buddy Guy, Ozzy Osborne, among many others; and programmers, talent buyers, music supervisors and other influencers worldwide.


Submissions for The 18th annual Independent Music Awards open in the summer of 2019. Details, as well as a complete list of nominees, winners and judges are available at


#     #     #     #     #     #